Make-Up Shake-Up

I’m sick, and I need help.

What’s the prognosis?

An overdose of MAKEUP FEVER. Honestly, I think I was better off without it in my life. (I was kidding!  I love you, makeup!)   I’m starting to get hot flashes and night sweats.  All right, not really.  But my WALLET is starting to feel the burn, and that’s when I have to take a step back and blog about my descent into mica powders and primers.

Wet N Wild Idol Eyes Creme Shadow in #130 Pixie - A total bargain! Gorgeous shimmer for like $1.35 or something.

Basically, before this month (or, wow, I guess last month, since it’s already March.  How does that happen?) the extent of my makeup drawer was relatively sparse, and consisted of some basics I had only bought because I figured I was going off to college, and I might want to look nice occasionally.  (Hardy har har.  You can shove the Sweatpants Addict out of the house, but you can’t make her leave the sweats at home!)  I went with my friend Amanda, who was much more knowledgeable on the subject than I, and I basically just bought a copy of everything she had.

What did I own before that?  Well… I was doing good on the nail polish, but I guess that doesn’t count.  I think I had… no, wait… maybe… oh, maybe not…  To be completely honest?  I had some mousse foundation from Maybelline, and a Claire’s everything-in-one-cheap-place eyeshadow kit that my sister got me one Christmas or birthday.  (She stole both, but I hadn’t touched them in ages anyway.)

On the trip I got 2 things of liquid liner, my two cheap Claire’s palettes, my illuminating powder/blush, and my lipgloss.  (Oh, right, and my shitty cheap blusher brush.)

As you’ll see in a moment, it’s done a lot more than double as of late.

In January I’ve learned a lot about something that I had never bothered to really explore.  It was as foreign a practice to me as the ability to blow glass.  (No, guys, in case you’re wondering, we aren’t BORN being able to do our makeup.  I wish– I think it ought to be a genetic memory thing.)  A few bad experiences + the fact that my mother and sister never really wore makeup = my complete aversion to it in all forms.

I know I have pictures of this up already, but it truly is a Holy Grail item! For anyone who has tried to foil their eyeshadow, or just wants a better look, this is totally a must.

My philosophy was that if I used makeup to pretty myself up on a regular basis, my face would only be able to go down on my unavoidable lazy days.

Still, I like to think that even without the obvious spending I’ve done, I threw myself into this side of my project whole-heartedly.  I didn’t just buy the

products and call it a day– I did a lot of research.  I’ve watched hundreds of Youtube videos, and read more blog reviews than you could shake a stick at.  My eyes were bleeding from staring a computer screen so long.  I compared brands, tried out different colors, and figured out how to not only put on color, but how to improve the canvas (aka my face) underneath.  Instead of just introducing myself to makeup, I introduced myself to a better skin regiment.  I’m trying to take care of my skin instead of just complaining about it.  And I feel really good. 🙂

I’m never destined to be a model, but I think I can dress myself up without too much trouble.

But let’s get to the fun part, shall we?  Tallying up all of my beauty-related purchases over the past month or so and seeing what it’s costing me to be this gorgeous.  (Lol!)  To be honest, this will be fun, if not terrifying, for me as well.  I haven’t looked too hard at the receipts once I’ve thrown them in my purse, so… Yeah.  PREPARE YOURSELVES!  (And sorry for another long post!)

What’s the damage?

Target: $33.20

  • Burt’s Bees Body Lotion for Dry Skin – $7.99 (Came with a free toothpaste sample!)
  • Rimmel Exaggerate Eye Liner #250 Emerald Sparkle – $3.69
  • Maybelline #015 Lip Gloss in Born With It – $5.54
  • Botanics Soothing Eye Makeup Remover – $5.99
  • Up & Up 4-Piece Mineral Brush Kit – $9.99

Walmart (Not even counting everyday stuff like wet wipes, tweezers, bobby pins or nail polish remover) : $67.10

  • Wet n Wild Natural Blend Mineral Foundation – $4.74
  • x3 Pure Ice Nailpolish – $6.00
  • Kiss False Eyelashes (careful, they don’t come with adhesive) – $3.48
  • Rimmel Soft Kohl #071 Pure White Eye Pencil – $3.12
  • Wet n Wild Idol Eyes Creme Shadow Pencil in #130 Pixie – $1.93
  • Maybelline Great Lash Mascara – $4.24
  • Wet n Wild Eye Liner Black – $.93
  • Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer – $8.00
  • Hard Candy Glitz Stick in Sweet as Pie – $4.80
  • Covergirl Lip Perfection Lipliner in Beloved + Covergirl Lipstick #265 Romance – $5.94 each
  • Revlon Double-Ended Eyeshadow Brush (can’t find, so I’m ballparking) – $6.00
  • Maybelline Concealer #10 Light – $5.48
  • Sally Hansen Purple Pulse Polish – $6.50

Fyrinnae Cosmetics: $28

  • Special Pixie Epoxy Closeout tube – $5.00
  • Pixie Epoxy Sample – $1.50
  • Powder Highlighter: Center Stage – $1.50
  • 8 Eyeshadow Samples – $16.00
  • Shipping – $4

Linnaeus Cosmetics: $11.50

  • Sample Pack of 10 Shadow Samples – $10.00
  • Shipping – $1.50

Coastal Scents Jars: $5.22

Shiro Cosmetics:$33.50

  • Super Effective Pokemon 40 Shadow Sampler – $32.00
  • Shipping – $1.50

Detrivore Cosmetics: $10

  • 7 Eyeshadow Samples – $7.00
  • 3 Blush/Bronzer/Highlighter Samples – $3.00

Sassy Minerals: $10.23

  • 6 Eyeshadow Samples – $6.00
  • 2 Blush Samples – $2.00
  • Shipping – $2.23

Things I’m Having My Mother Get Me ‘Cause She’s So Nice: $27

  • Travel-Size Urban Decay Primer Potion in Nude – $8.00
  • Benefit Creaseless Cream Shadow in Skinny Jeans – $19.00

(Plus I forgot something when I bought my stuff @ Sassy Minerals, so I told my friend if she bought anything from there to buy me some and I would pay her back.  It’s called Gasoline Rainbow, and is really pretty as both a shadow AND a liner.) – $1.00 Sample

Total Haul for Kiah’s Makeup Portion of the Project: A Bazillion Items

Total Cost: $225.75

Now, granted you could take maybe that last $25 off ’cause my mom was nice enough not to make me pay her back, but you’re still left with a whopping $200.  THAT’S INSANE.  THAT’S BEAUTIFUL.  I’M ABSOLUTELY NUTS.  Granted it was all totally worth it, but still.

Fyrinnae isn't just great because of their Pixie Epoxy-- they also have a great range of absolutely GORGEOUS eyeshadows! I can't wait till I allow myself to go back for seconds. ❤

So what have I learned from this portion of my attempt to become more fashionable?  Well, first that I’m sort of glad I didn’t realize how much fun it was sooner.  After all, my funds would be dismal if I had been feeding this addiction longer than a month.  (And really, most of the more major purchases have only happened in the last… Mm, week?  Nobody should leave me alone to browse with a computer.)  I think I can take it easy after this, though– I’m caught up.  I think, though, that after this month, a portion of all future funds and gift-giving holidays will have to be allotted for makeup.  I’m addicted!

Second, that makeup and I were fated from the start.   A couple of bad experiences with it scared me off, but really, I’m happy we’ve had a loving reunion.  (Like in movies, where people go running in slow-motion across a beach to leap into one another’s arms?  That’s what we did.  Hardcore.)  Really, I don’t know why it didn’t click sooner– makeup is everything I love anyway– namely colors and art.  You get to experiment, play around, choose from a billion different shades, spend money (I really do enjoy that part), and the tools are practically the same!

We also decided I have an obsessive personality, go figure.

Even though I will try to keep up my facial beauty, ESPECIALLY since within the next week I’ll have so many new shades of eyeshadow to play with (Oh yay!), it’s time to say goodbye to makeup for the time being.  I’ve officially cut myself off money-wise, so I can only stare at the pictures and whimper softly.  We’re moving this gravy train along.

What’s the next stop?  I think I’ll begin to explore my hair– or the lack of what I do with it. (Urgh.)

Stay tuned for more adventure from that crazy hobo, the Sweatpants Queen!

Kiah

For anyone who is interested,

here is a list of the colors of shadow I bought from the above sellers.  Y’know, in case you were interested, shopping around, bored, etc.  Hope you think they’re as rad sounding as I do!  (After all, the names are half the fun!)

From Fyrinnae: Snow Leopard, Shinigami, Sake & Sashimi, Kamikaze,
Dressed to Kill, Boytoy, Bali Mynah, & Robot Takeover ((Also, I
know for sure they sent me a free sample of Rapunzel Had Extensions,
which was just so nice!  It's a really lovely color.))
From Linnaeus: Stilts, Go Go Flamingo, Kitsch, Balancing Act,
Kalahari, Fabled, Tough Stuff, Cavort, Brigand, & Pollywog
From Shiro: (All 40 colors in the Super Effective Pokemon Collection)
Brock the Rock, Vulpix, Moltres, Seaking, Charmander, S.S. Anne, Meowth,
Rapidash, Dunsparce, Pikachu, Weepinbell, Spinarak, Budew, Acid,
Bulbasaur, Wobbuffet, Articuno, Manectric, Squirtle, Gyarados, Zubat,
Poliwrath, Gengar, Mewtwo, Lance the Dragon Trainer, Rattatta, Butterfree,
Spiritomb, Jigglypuff, Team Rocket, Porygon, Mew, Shaymin, Clefairy,
Vileplume, Magneton, Steelix, Golem, Sudowoodo, & Hyper Beam (Phew!)
From Detrivore: Fiend, Brine, Amazon, Body Bag, Artery, Sordid &
Psychopathia (Plus Copper Bronzer, Orgy Highlight and Broken Glass Mica
Glitter)
From Sassy: Pixie Sprinkles, Lucky Dog, Disturbing the Peace, Etcetera,
Femme Fatale, & Taboo (Plus Blush in First Kiss & Give Me Some Sugar)


Urban Decay Primer Potion! Another eye must. Comes in Nude, Eden, Sin or Greed.

About loserx0rz

A woman who has decided to start using blogging as both a method of getting off her butt to DO things and a tool for school projects. Hopefully this works out. :)

Posted on March 4, 2011, in Copious Shopping, Funny Story..., Personal Stuff, Product Placement. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Ha ha! xD; I already cheated and bought a couple brushes (THEY WERE TOTALLY NECESSARY) and a few more jars… like, 60 or so. (ALSO TOTALLY NECESSARY.)
    I got my original jar order and my Linnaeus stuff today, yay! The colors are so absolutely gorgeous, and Marin (who runs it) is a total sweetie– she sent me a personal note with my order, and 2 free samples of Astute and Mongo. (A purple and a yellow.) How nice!
    I’m hoping to get my Fyrinnae shadows soon, and Detrivore should be here as well in a bit.
    Lots of stuff to play with!
    And my mom is sending my primer potion + Skinny Jeans in the mail tomorrow, so hopefully by some time next week I’ll be able to start running around in my pretty new colors!

    Though let me tell you, getting the colors from the little baggies to the jars is TOTALLY ANNOYING.
    Thank God Fyrinnae just sends the samples in little jars. ❤

  2. Wow, I never thought much about how it’s just more economically feasible to be a sweatpants girl (I’m right there with you). Certainly, the people who make money off our desire to be beautiful put a lot of effort, and advertising, into convincing us we need help. What a world.

  3. oofta. Burt’s Bees is definitely a wonderful brand. Their lip balm… probably the best. In fact, the last tube I bought came with a “Save $1.00 now” coupon for their toothpaste. Interesting. Was the sample good? Personally, I’m loyal to Crest.

    • Save $1.00? I wonder why I got a free one? Maybe they’re trying to get rid of them…Huh! But yes, I LOVE Burt’s Bees for my lips– that minty tingle is the best thing ever, especially when your lips are so chapped they hurt. Their toothpaste is interesting, I won’t lie, but I suppose it would depend on how much you love Crest and how expensive an actual tube of the toothpaste is! The weirdest thing about it (for me) is that it doesn’t foam like other toothpastes, and it really is more like a ‘paste’ as opposed to the sort of gel-mix you usually get. Overall the taste is fine, just a little mint, and it seems to get the job done. =) Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

