Updates and Ideas

Hello again, friends and neighbors!

It’s me, the Sweatpants Queen Supreme.

I have to admit that this back-to-school thing is proving to be a major drag!  I’m so used to Spring Break being closer to the end of the year, so to have it at the exact middle and know I have a whole half a semester left?  Sort of a bummer.

Not that I don’t have plenty to keep me busy in that time!  It’s hard to imagine that I only started this blog… Well, for all intents and purposes in February.  Here’s to 1 month of beauty blogging!  You go, Sweatpants Girl!

I’d like to take this moment as a sort of small update about the blog, where I’ll be going this month, and some things I plan to do in the days ahead. 🙂  Neat-O, right?  Right!  So, to summarize.  I’m pretty proud of myself about the whole makeup section, and can only hope my future endeavors turn out so well– though of course I will have to go at them on a (MAJORLY) reduced budget!

Still, that got me thinking, which is one of the ideas I’ll bring up in a second.

When everything is said and done, I don’t think I’ll ever STOP being a sweatpants girl.  Not only is it, as my teacher was insightful enough to point out, more economically feasible... It’s just who I am, really.  I’ll never remember/have the time to put stuff on my face EVERY day, I’ll never buy Coach instead of Target purses, and more than likely a ponytail will still be my default hairdo.  But so what?  At least I’m making myself more informed that there are other choices– I can class it up when I want to. 😉

Okay!  Mushy stuff over!

So where is the blog headed now?

Like I said in the last one, though you may not have made it there through the mound of text, I think I’m going to start trying to focus on my hair.  For the most part, I remember to get it cut once in awhile, and I wash it every other day.  (It’s not healthy to wash your hair EVERY day, you know!) But like I’ve said, ponytails are a girls best friend- at least this girl anyway.

Still, I’ve always wanted to be able to do something different with my hair when I had the time.  (I mean, what about those messy bun/ponytails?  How do those girls DO that without making it look like you put your hair up in the dark?)  Still, I have an… interesting-shaped face, so not everything looks great on me…  Not to mention I’m never sure if I want to go curly or straight.  (My hair is naturally pretty wavy…  AND THICK, OH MY GOD.)

So yeah!  I have a few styles on my plate to try out.  This means extending my morning routine time AGAIN to include not only makeup but hair messing, which (to be quite honest) is probably the most difficult part, but I will persevere!  I’ve already tried a couple of new do’s, so I’ll blog about those shortly. 🙂

When is the blog done?

When I’m crowned Miss America!  Ha ha, funny.  Actually, I’m not entirely sure… It seems like the job of completely teaching this old dog new tricks could take a lifetime and a fortune– or more.  This is technically an assignment for my Nonfiction class, and I believe it ends.. well, almost a month before finals, because I have to write an essay on what I’ve learned.  (Well I should certainly have enough material!)   But I’ve grown kind of fond of the bugger.

Hmm.  The truth is I don’t know WHEN the blog is ‘done’, per say.  Maybe in a month, maybe longer.  Whenever I get tired of updating it I guess!  But rest assured that day is not today, and I have a LOT more facets of my personal fashion to explore, so you’ll still get more awkward photos, don’t you worry.

Ideas, etc.

While we were looking at our blogs in my last class, I was given an idea that I thought had some real potential.  Actually two ideas.  They weren’t necessarily anything new, and certainly not anything I haven’t seen people much greater than I take a whack at, but that’s not the point.  The point is I’LL be doing them– and from a Sweatpants Girl point of view. (I like to think that’s sort of unique– and from the every-girl bleachers, the ones that aren’t populated with people who know what they’re doing!)

So what am I talking about exactly?

  1. Well, the first thing that was mentioned was going through my collection and giving reviews, in a word.  Basically discussing what I have.  A lot of people on Youtube do reviews, but they don’t have my opinions, so I guess that is a good reason to read?  And you aren’t watching those people on Youtube, you are reading MY blog, so supposedly you care what I think.
  2. Second, a one-shot idea  but a great one nonetheless, is to try to come up with Starter Kits for the Clueless, aka me a month or so ago.  I added in the stipulation that I try to do them on different budgets– so from a Super-Cheap-Drug-Store kit to a Ridiculous-Spender budget.  (I honestly envy the second.)  These would include the basics I think people should have.

These would just, for the most part, but small blog updates interjected between my major updates.

One last thing!

As I wrap this up, I would like to add that if anyone has any questions, any at all, feel free to leave a comment and ask!  I will get to you super-quickly, mostly ’cause I stalk the internet, and I will try to be as thorough as possible.  If I don’t know the answer, I’ll look it up!  (Try to keep these makeup/fashion related– nothing philosophical!)

I mean, I’m doing most of this for me, but if I could help out another questioning Sweatpants Aficionado, I would be more than happy. ^^

Also, if you have any comments on things I mention, experiences, or suggestions, please let me know!  I would love to hear your stories, input, etc.  I’ve gotten this far by listening to a lot of other people’s opinions, I’d hate to stop now!

Thanks for reading, and I hope to see you soon. 🙂

The Sweatpants Sweetheart,

Kiah

About loserx0rz

A woman who has decided to start using blogging as both a method of getting off her butt to DO things and a tool for school projects. Hopefully this works out. :)

Posted on March 9, 2011, in Expert Advice, Personal Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

