Shopping List: Benefit Creaseless Cream Shadow/Liner

Hi there my beauties!

I don’t know about you,

But I have been feeling SO unmotivated lately! D:  I think I’m in a rut or something.  Nothing seems to have much of an appeal, you know?  Well, I still enjoy doing my makeup, but since I haven’t been going anywhere, I’ve been hesitant to use any of my fun, expensive stuff.  I’m not sure what it is…  Finally hitting my winter blues?  Missing the sun?  Possibly.

So I’m sitting here on a Saturday, watching the lovely snow swirling (I almost wrote squirreling, LOL) outside my window, and I decided that this would be a good time to start something I mentioned in my last blog, individual item reviews!

You’ll have have to forgive lack of pictures of ME, or taken by me, because I only have my camera phone, and even then I have no way to get the pictures on the computer.  Up till now I’ve been having my friend load them for me, but she’s been busy, so I’ll just try to find a LOT of internet pictures! 🙂  I want you to see this stuff!

So, what’s our first item today?

Benefit Creaseless Cream Shadow/Liner

This stuff is really great!  I found out about it through a top 10 products video by the wonderful Sirvinya, whose youtube channel I have linked in the links section below.  She said that this was a product worth having, and so having, I have to agree!

The picture above is a good idea of what you’re looking at, packaging, etc.  That color is Stiletto, but I don’t think they have that one right now– they’ve gone for a lot of nude/pale/neutral colors, which makes them good for every-day wear and bases.

As you can see they come in a cute little bird-covered box, and there’s a little fortune-advice card– mine says “And on the 7th day makeup was created.”  Ha ha, right? xD

The product also comes in a glass jar, which is really preferable if you’re getting anything cream-based.  Why?  Well, they just tend to hold in moisture much better than plastic containers.  Make sure to screw the lids on reallllly tight, and this will last you at least 2 years, if not longer. 🙂

The one that my mother bought me (isn’t she nice everyone??) is the color ‘Skinny Jeans‘.  The name alone is just really awesome and pretty unique, so it’s easy to remember when I want to mention it.

Although you might think blue (at least that was what I had in mind when hearing ‘jeans’), this color is actually more of a pewter, but don’t let that fool you!  The best description I could find was on the blog where I got the picture– she describes it as

“A complex pewter, Skinny Jeans has glorious hints of gunmetal, grey, olive, antique gold and taupe, plus a sprinkling of colourful micro-shimmer – minuscule and barely discernible, except under strong lighting – for subtle twinkle.”

Doesn’t that just sound gorgeous?  And let me tell you, on the lid it is all that and more.  I actually wore it the other day, and if you’re in need of something that will go on quick and easy, this is your man.  (Or makeup!)  It’s very buildable– go with a quick swipe for very sheer but noticeable color, or wait a bit and layer it for multiple effects. It’s also a great medium for putting on smoky looks.

Also, easy to apply however you want– brushes work well, but if you’ve only got your finger, that’ll work as well!

The colors are great on their own or as bases for other eyeshadows, and like the name says, IT’S CREASELESS!  I wore this all day, and there was never any creasing to speak of– no ugly line in the middle of my eyelid.

That swatch is a good one, but really you can only get a very general idea of the beauty of this from a photo.

So, the technical stuff!

You can get this wherever Benefit products are sold.  Mine was purchased through Sephora, but you could also go to a Benefit store or their website.  I’m not sure where else they retail their products, but for the moment this is in the lineup and available. 🙂

It’s a bit on the expensive side (though it could be MUCH WORSE, believe me!) at $19, but I think it’s totally worth it.  This is a great darker color, but if you would like something a bit more pink/nude, the color “R.S.V.P” is another very popular shade.

Just a note– despite your instincts, try not to store your makeup in the bathroom!  The constant steam from showers is bad for it, and it will last longer if you get it somewhere clean and dry.  ^^

So I hope this was helpful!  This was my impartial and honest review– I just really love this stuff!  I’ve only worn it on it’s own thus far, but I’m looking forward to trying it as a base for the Linnaeus ((href=”http://www.etsy.com/listing/66841773/gemsbok-collection-loose-eye-shadow)) Gemsbok Collection, which I think will look super awesome!

Thanks for reading, and I hope everyone’s weekend is going well!  I’m going to try to get out of my doldrums and get back to feeling fabulous. 🙂  Don’t forget to comment, and if you’ve ever used this, let me know what you thought!

Yours,

Sweatpants Soldier

This was done by Sirvinya, as you can see. Check out her blog/Youtube!

About loserx0rz

A woman who has decided to start using blogging as both a method of getting off her butt to DO things and a tool for school projects. Hopefully this works out. :)

Posted on March 12, 2011, in Benefit, Expert Advice, Fashion Police, Product Placement, Shopping List. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Your blog always keeps me laughing, and learning! I am so glad you are so enthusiastic about this project! keep it up!

Leave a Reply

