Shopping List: Maybelline Great Lash Mascara

Hey everyone!

If you read the last blog,

I’d just like to say that I’m feeling much better.  If you didn’t, well, that’s perfectly fine, but you should still know that I’m feeling good.  🙂  As far as the blog goes I’ve felt a bit like a slug lately– the hair thing isn’t going so well as the makeup, but I guess that’s to be expected…  My hair doesn’t appeal to me nearly so much as the multitude of colors I can play around with in my makeup collection!

Still, in the interim, I thought I would at least post another Shopping List blog, and on something that I know a lot of people have– namely Maybelline’s Great Lash Mascara, aka the one in the Green and Pink Tube.

This is possibly one of the best-known mascaras, at least of the drugstore variety, and you’re likely to find it in almost everyone’s makeup drawer– I believe at least one or two tubes of this are floating around in my bathroom at home, belonging to my sister and my mother.

It’s pretty cheap, about $4-5 a pop, and you can probably find it much cheaper if you just look around and google a bit.  This isn’t half bad for mascara, though there are just SO many they can run pretty much any price, and really choice of mascara tends to be personal– check out any make up guru, and they’re sure to have a big fat collection of mascaras.

Apparently these come in lots of colors too!  That’s always nice.  I bought mine at Walmart, and I don’t remember if I saw other colors or not, but according to the internet you can get it in at least six shades, including Black, Brown, Brown/Black, Royal Blue, and some sort of White.  I’ve only tried blacks and browns myself, but I recently bought a sparkly mascara, so I’ll have to let you know how that goes.

Cute wand bristles. 🙂

So how do I feel about this mascara?  Well, hmm.  Good question.  It’s an OK mascara, and it definitely is better than no mascara at all– the black is  very black, and I guess it makes your lashes look a little more voluminous.  Now, keep in mind the kind I have is the Washable kind, and that there are several versions, so I can only attest to the one I tried.

This is a mascara that clumps VERY easily– you can’t layer this stuff.  Get whatever you intend to get on the first go, because it becomes a black gloppy mess on your lashes if you try to apply more once it’s dried.

Also, this is a very wet mascara, and is prone to getting EVERYWHERE.  I don’t think I’ve applied it once where it didn’t get all over me and my already-applied makeup.  Now I’ll grant that this could be because I’m not so great at applying it, but I’ve heard from other people that they have a similar problem.  Basically you have to put it on and NOT MOVE AN INCH, because if you blink you instantly have little mascara tracks on your upper and lower lids.

Obviously that’s not my eye, but I wanted to find somebody wearing it to show what it does.  (Isn’t it amazing how much people DON’T look like the airbrushed ads?)

Like I said, there are about a million different brands of mascara, and at least a couple variations in each of those brands.  Finding a mascara YOU love is the only thing that matters–though you may have to try a few.  Personally, Maybelline Great Lash is NOT my end-all in mascara, but if you like it?  Go with it. 🙂

If you’re open to trying new things, here are some brands I’ve heard great things about/am trying myself!

  • L’Oreal Telescopic – Walmart
  • NYX Doll Eye Mascara – nyxcosmetics.com
  • Boots No7 Definition – Target.com

Well, that’s all for now!  Keep on keeping on, and I’ll try to do the same. 😉

Best,

Me!

 

About loserx0rz

A woman who has decided to start using blogging as both a method of getting off her butt to DO things and a tool for school projects. Hopefully this works out. :)

Posted on March 21, 2011, in Expert Advice, Maybelline, Shopping List. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I never use mascara because I have the exact same problem with getting it everywhere. The “mascara tracks” made me laugh because I never knew what to call them. These days I just go heavy on the eyeliner, less of a mess (unless it’s liquid- gah).

    • Yes, it’s certainly an acquired skill, somewhere between unicycle riding and lion taming. I’ve seen people put it on without any thought, and I have to focus every ounce of concentration on not smudging my eyeshadow and ruining half an hours work. (The saddest thing is I watched a 5-year-old put on her mascara with more finesse than I have putting on mine.)

      Mascara tracks are the WORST.
      But anyway, I’ve found I get the best results with mascara when A. I curl my lashes first, so they’re further away from the eye, B. I tilt my head back when I apply it. Not sure why this works, but I’m sure there’s some technical reason. and C. I just go really slow and pray like mad I don’t mess it up. (Or jab myself in the eye– that hurts too.)

      Thanks for the commment! =D ❤

Leave a Reply

